Skip to content

To Mark as Spam, Delete OR Edit?

March 4, 2009

That is the question!!

I have always believed in Free Speech and all that goes with it but sometimes I think people take Free Speech just too far! They use it strictly for their own benefit and come what may to the rest of civilization…Especially when it comes to the Internet and Spammers!

Today I am specifically talking about spam comments…you know the ones I’m sure!

Someone leaves you a very nice comment, telling you what a wonderful post you’ve made or some such non-sense and how they enjoyed it so much and in the back of your mind you’re thinking: “Now I know it wasn’t That good”!  And those oh, so, hated spammers, do it in hopes that you will be so ignorant that you don’t know you are being spammed because at the beginning or end of their comment where their name is you can click on the link and it takes everyone to a link from ClickBank or some other affiliate program trying to sell you some garbage!

Personally I can not stand spammers or anyone that even Tries to spam my work and even worse to think I am a complete ignoramus that I don’t know what is going on!

So then I have to take time out of my day and decide what to do with these people. Do I Edit the comment, which I truly hate doing Because I believe in Free Speech, but I figure in this case that they have such little regard for me and my work then why not?

Or to Delete the comment, forget about it and go on about my day like nothing has ever happened, which wouldn’t take much of my valuable time.

Or, mark the comment as SPAM and be rid of the anti-social’s for good, Until they send another comment under yet another e-mail address!

Well normally I will not mark them as SPAM, because then no one would be the wiser as to who these anti-social individual’s are and I generally don’t delete them either, (unless they are very vulgar), because then they can come back and do it to me time and time again, And then I would also be Denying them their Freedom of Speech…

So I chose to Edit the comments! After all, I feel that if They can have Their Freedom of Speech then so can I!

Now don’t take this the wrong way, when I Edit the comments I leave all of the sweet, wonderful part of the comment that they have made…so I am not denying them their Freedom of Speech, I mean after all, if someone thinks I am Fantastic, Great, A Wonderful Blogger etc. then who am I to deny them from telling the World how Great they think I am? But when I Edit a comment, I Only remove the referral links that they have Accidentally left on my blogs and I am only helping them out by removing them as I am Sure it was an honest mistake!

And after Editing the comment I will come to the said Spammed blog and write an entire post…just for them, leaving their name and e-mail addresses and I will even go so far as to put their e-mail addresses in the tags…just in case someone doesn’t feel like reading the entire post!

So this post is especially for Stephanie, she wrote a comment to me on my post entitled: And The Winner Is…! in which she left a referral link from ClickBank to some sort of Panic Away relief or some such garbage and I have removed the link from her comment so no one has to worry about clicking on it and if you have already clicked on it I would suggest you going to your browsers cookies and removing it.

So for all of my great blogging buddies out there, be on the lookout for a comment left by:

Stephanie

and Stephanie’s e-mail address is:

stephanie@dadumail.com

Or at least that is the e-mail address that I have listed for her, I don’t know for sure, but she has already taken enough of my time today for her foolishness and much hated Spamming!

I have no idea if Stephanie will ever get back here and read this or if she has moved on to someone else that she considers to be her next sucker, but hey Steph, this one’s for you and sorry if you are upset by the post, (NOT!), but I am only exercising My Freedom Of Speech, just the same as you saw fit to do on this exact same blog!

That’s all for me today, hope to see all of you NON-SPAMMERS back again soon and remember…Shhhhhhhh! Keep it under your hat and…Don’t Tell a Soul! (Well, in this case, tell everyone you know)!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 7:19 am

    I always take the time top remove blatant commercial plugs. Otherwise they take advantage.

  2. March 5, 2009 3:59 am

    That makes me feel so much better that I am not the only one that does this it is a shame that people Make you do things that you probably wouldn’t normally do?

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting…I was at your place just yesterday!

Leave a Reply

